Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20150719_101819

 

I often get asked what is my favorite way to apply my foundation. Some use fingers, others use sponges and many also might use brushes. When I first started applying foundation, I hated how some of the brushes left streaks on my face, leaving my face looking cakey and not natural. I don’t know about you but I love a foundation that gives off a natural look to the face. Whether you like a more matte formula or prefer a dewy complexion, I think that we all have gone through our journey of finding the correct tools that make our foundations look its best. Here I will be sharing my most reached for and favorite tools which are used when I apply my foundation.

Now let me say I haven’t used or own every brush known to man kind but I have purchased a huge amount (MAC, Sigma, Smashbox, MUFE, Sephora brand, etc) to know what worked for me.  The tools that will be mentioned are the tools I use to apply cream and liquid foundation only. Powder foundation brushes will be mentioned in another blog post. These are my personal opinions on what works for me and I hope that they will work for you just as well!

BeautyBlender Sponge: My favorite way to apply foundation would definitely have to be the beautyblender. The beautyblender is a non-disposable high definition cosmetic sponge. This sponge is to be used damp (wet and squeeze excess water). In the picture below I showed two of my favorite types of beautylenders (pink and black) and also showed one that is damp, hence the size difference. Now all 4 are the from the same brand, it’s just the one that is wet has been used for quite sometime and will be replaced for a new one soon.

20150719480990054This beautyblender sponge is sold at Sephora, Dermstore.com, Nordstrom, Beauty.com and on Frendsbeauty.com. Starting price for one is at 19.95 and up. I have noticed the more you buy the cheaper it comes out to be for the price of each beautyblender. Plus be on the lookout for sales and coupons to stock up on this tool. Although pricey, this is my most used tool when it comes to applying foundation. I have purchased many dupes and alternatives and nothing seems to compare. All of these cheaper alternatives seem to be very hard, thick and dense and feel like you are punching your face when using it. Plus it doesn’t leave the skin looking as flawless as the beautyblender. The only other sponge which might compare to the beautyblender would be the real techniques miracle complexion sponge but I don’t know to me, I rather stick with the original as it lasts longer and does it’s job.

The way you use it is by first wetting it with water over an over, until it grows in size. Once you see that the size has become bigger, you need to squeeze the excess water (use a towel for final squeeze). When the sponge is damp, I apply my cream or liquid foundation to my face and bounce  the sponge all over my face blending in the foundation. With this tool, you will not find any streaks at all. This sponge also takes away any excess foundation and leaves the skin looking natural and not cakey. I use this sponge with my foundation, concealers and loose powder to set my face. You are supposed to replace it every 3-6 months depending on the usage and as you can see the light pink one in my picture above will soon be replaced.

Morphe Brushes Elite Collection E6 brush: I hate mentioning this brush but it is one of my favorites. The reason why I hate mentioning it is because I got this brush from the limited edition Elite collection from Morphebrushes.com. The Morphe E6 is a synthetic flat buffer brush. This brush blends the foundation very well and is so soft! 20150719_102427

On the Morphe site, the Elite E6 brush is priced at $14.99 and can be cheaper if you can find an affiliate discount code. I heard that this Elite collection did so well in sales that Morphe might make this a permanent collection (this is a rumor but to every rumor, somewhere is the truth).  The way I use this brush is by applying the foundation straight with the brush by stippling the foundation which is a technique in which you press the foundation onto the face. Honestly, I barely blend with this brush as  it leaves a flawless finish with the stippling method but there are some places on my face in which I need to blend in the imperfections or areas where I may have too much foundation.

Morphe Brushes Gun Metal Collection G6 Brush:  The Gun Metal G6 brush is a flat buffer brush from their permanent collection. What makes this different is the fact that this brush is a more compact, smaller and more precise version of the flat top brushes that I own. The Morphe G6 brush flawlessly buffs out cream and liquid foundation with its synthetic bristles. Because it is small,  the Gun metal G6 fits into every angle of the face for a natural blended look. I love using this brush with all my foundations as it doesn’t soak in much product into the brush as other buffer brushes might. I even use this with my Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid Touch Foundation which has a more watery consistency formula. I can use this brush by stippling on or blending out the foundation. With either technique, the Gun Metal G6 brush leaves your face looking beautiful!20150719_102749

 

Real Techniques Core Collection Buffing Brush: Now this buffing brush comes in a 4 piece set and is priced at $17.99 ……great deal if you ask me! You can find this brush set at ulta, Kohls and Realtechniques,com. If you are able to get this set at Ulta I definitely would recommending doing so because you can either use a coupon or buy it when they have the “buy one get on 50% off” or “40% off” the real techniques brushes promotion. To be honest many of the brushes from this brand are amazing and affordable but I will only be mentioning this one as it is the only one I own in which pertains to foundation application.

The Real techniques buffer brush is stated to be ideal for full coverage application of powder and mineral foundation (which is true) but since it’s a synthetic brush, you can use this brush with cream and liquid products as well. I love using this with my cream foundation as it does a good job at blending and buffing, hence the name. If your foundation formula is to water or runny, I wouldn’t use this buffer brush as it might soak it into the brush rather than blending it on your face. For the price and quality, I definitely think this set is worth your time.  20150719_102718

 

Crown Brush Infinity Series C-451 Small Round Buffer Brush: This synthetic bristle brush is priced at $12.95 on the Crown Brush website Now this brush would have to be my most dense brush that I own and I love the C-451 buffer brush  for my thicker harder to blend foundations. Because it is dense, this brush would even be great for blending out cream contours which I actually do as well. I don’t stipple with this brush because of how dense it is but rather buff the foundation in a circular motion after spraying it with a little Mac Fix+ for a little smoother application. The infinity series brushes reminds me a lot of the Sigma collection but at a much cheaper price. You can purchase these and other style brushes  individually on the Crown Brush website or on Hautelook when they are featured at a more discounted price about once a month. I got mine from Hautelook as an 8 piece set for a very great price.

20150719_102324

 

This is my little breakdown of my favorite and most used brushes when it comes to my application of liquid or cream foundation. I have mentioned the prices, the best way to use it and the places where they can be found. I hope that this helps you in your selection of brushes/tool the next time you go shopping. As I have mentioned before, I do own many other styles of foundation brushes, but these are my personal go-to brushes when I want a hassle/stress free flawless face. What may work for me might not necessarily work for you. But for those of you wanting to know my opinion… there you go!!

🙂

 

***************Disclaimer************* All of these items mentioned in this blog post have been purchased with my own money. My opinions are 100% mine and unbiased.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.